The Huether Hotel | Proud to offer a unique dining experience, an enjoyable atmosphere and "Something For Everyone". Lion Brewery Restaurant Daily | 11am to 1am & Weekends at 10:00am for Breakfast
Barley Works Public House and Grill Daily | 11:30am to 1:00am
Cafe 1842 Daily | 7:00am to 1:00am

Read More

Did you know:

  • In 1890, Christopher N. Huether Jr., joins his father's business after four years training in American Breweries. He is the third and final generation of Huethers to work in the building on the corner of King and Princess Streets.
  • From 1899 until 1930, the great building at the corner of King and Princess was owned by the Kuntz Brewing Company, and the hotel portion of the building had many different proprietors.
  • When John Peter Adlys became the sole owner in 1958 after buying out his partner's interest in Hotel Kent, Waterloo saw the beginning of a long transformation resulting in today's Huether Hotel.
  • Today, a third generation of Adlys are deeply committed to the Hotel's success. The eldest sons, Kelly and David, are responsible for much of the recent restoration work, and Christina and Bernie II have also come on board.
  • In 1900, Christopher Jr. moved his brewery operation to the corner of King and Victoria, under the name of The Berlin Lion Brewery, but it was closed after violating a law against making strong beer, and the brewery was sold.
  • Tunnels stretch out from the back wall and run underneath the bowling alley behind the building. From there, they could go on for yards or miles. The Adlys asked for permission to search the tunnels, but they were denied.
  • Just outside the entrance to the cavern, in an unassuming corner, a small arched window sits bricked-in and long forgotten. One can imagine a horse and buggy pulling up to the side of the building to load barrels passed from below.
  • When Albert Snyder acquired the hotel in 1934, he changed the name to Hotel Kent to attract a richer crowd. This name stuck until 1987 when it once again became the Huether Hotel.
  • The restoration effort earned the Adlys' a civic award in 1984. To commemorate the restoration, they changed the name to the Huether Hotel to reflect the building's historic roots.
  • In 1987, The Lion Brewery Restaurant's doors opened, and the public could finally enjoy the beautiful space lovingly rescued from the fog of history.
  • When the Lion Brewery Restaurant opened as a brew pub in 1987, people loved the new handcrafted beers so much that the demand outgrew the size of the original brewing operation.

The Lion Brewery

The Lion Brewery, founded in 1842 by the Huether family and now operated and preserved by the Adlys family, is one of the oldest breweries in Canada. Our crafted beers are carefully brewed from select ingredients, combining the tastes beloved by Canadian and European beer drinkers. Enjoy one of these fine creations fresh from the tap. Can't decide? Order a sampler of four mini-glasses filled with your choice of these fabulous tasting drafts.

 


The Beers

Have a frosted 15oz mug of one of our great brews or try a Draft Beer Sampler. All our beers are brewed on premise by our master brewer & family member Kelly (Story of My Life!) Adlys.